Math: 1-10 in Russian

5 06 2010

Russian is another language I was looking forward to one-to-tenning with Floppy, because at one time (high school) it was a language that I (sort of) knew. So instead of hunting up one Internet and down the other youtube, I just taught him myself. Also, we made a Russian dinner. We had tea in glasses with a spoonful of blackberry jam in the bottom, pirogue s kapoustoy (a sort of cabbage pie),  and a blackberry compote. The tea and compote especially took me right back; if I had sliced up a cucumber with some dill to go with all this it would have been right out of my memories of obyet in Minsk.

Here’s the dinner. I wish I had brought out my Russian table linens to serve all this. Shame I didn’t!

Here’s the compote I made, which is a delicious vegetarian alternative to fruity jello, and which I adapted freely from this recipe:

Russian-style Blackberry Compote

1 12 oz. package frozen blackberries

1 cup water

1/2 cup sugar

3 tbsp cornstarch

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar

Mix the dry ingredients together. In a saucepan simmer the water with a small handful of the frozen berries for about 3 minutes. Then drain the cooked berries, reserving the liquid and returning it to the saucepan. Put the cooked berries in with the rest of the still-frozen berries in a smallish bowl. Whisk the dry ingredients into the berry water in the saucepan and stir until smooth. Heat to boiling, stirring constantly, and boil and stir until the mixture becomes very thick (a minute or two). Then stir into the bowl of berries along with the vinegar. Chill until cold. Yum.

After dinner, we read from Mama’s 1990 Russian/Byelorussian trip journal. Floppy thought it was boring, and poorly written besides, and a lot of it was totally embarrassing in that return-to-your-youth way, but I was surprised to see how much of it I had actually written in Russian. And the parts that were in Russian, I often could no longer understand! A nice trip down memory lane, as well as a counting lesson.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

